Honors & Awards

December 2012

Suzanne McDowell, vice president of human resources at King Arthur Flour, was named Human Resources Professional of the Year by the Society for Human Resource Management Vermont State Council. She was recognized for contributions to the company, the profession, and the community.


The Committee on Temporary Shelter announced the election of five new members to its board of directors: Debra Royce, Revision Military Ltd.; Beth Anderson, Vermont Oxford Network; James J. Fogler, Burlington Free Press/Gannett Co.; Marc H. Monheimer, Fletcher Allen Health Care Foundation; and Michael H. Lipson, attorney at law.

The Vermont Grocers Association named employee Donna Hogan Person of the Year. Hogan has served the membership and organization since joining as a part-time employee over 35 years ago. Named Exhibitor of the Year was the team from McKenzie’s Country Classics, which bested more than 140 exhibitors at the annual convention. Kaylee Robison of the Hannaford Supermarket in Middlebury won the competition to become the 2012 Vermont Best Bagger. She will represent Vermont at the upcoming nationals. The association re-elected Todd Keyworth of Harborside Market as board chair; Marcel Marquis of Shaw’s Supermarkets, vice chair; and Dwight LaFountain of Jiffy Mart, secretary-treasurer.

National Bank of Middlebury achieved the highest possible rating — “Outstanding” — in its recent Community Reinvestment Act performance evaluation from the comptroller of the currency, the federal administrator of national banks.

Central Vermont Medical Center (CVMC) medical staff elected new leadership for 2013. Pictured are Joe Pekala, M.D., the newly elected medical staff president, and Brad Watson, M.D., outgoing president. Additional leadership posts are held by Mark Crane, M.D., president-elect; Lynn Wilkinson, M.D., chair, department of medicine; and Ed Ziedins, M.D., chair, department of surgery. CVMC was named one of the nation’s Top Performers on Key Quality Measures by The Joint Commission for “exemplary performance in using evidence-based clinical processes that are shown to improve care for certain conditions.”

S. Crocker Bennett II, an attorney with Paul Frank + Collins, was named the Best Lawyers 2013 Burlington Medical Malpractice Law-Defendants Lawyer of the Year. Attorney Kerin E. Stackpole was named Burlington Litigation-Labor & Employment Lawyer of the Year.

Susan M. Murray of Langrock Sperry & Wool LLP was named Vermont’s 2013 Lawyer of the Year in the practice area of family law by Best Lawyers. Eighteen partners at the firm were named “Best Lawyers” in one or more areas of law. Recognized are F. Rendol Barlow, Alison J. Bell, Kevin E. Brown, Thomas Z. Carlson, David W.M. Conard, Christopher L. Davis, Ellen Mercer Fallon, Emily J. Joelson, Eric M. Knudsen, Peter F. Langrock, Devin McLaughlin, William B. Miller Jr., Murray, Mitchell L. Pearl, Lisa B. Shelkrot, Mark L. Sperry III, James W. Swift, and Sarah Gentry Tischler.

The Addison County Chamber of Commerce named The Vermont Book Shop Business of the Year. Two individuals were honored with the Buster Brush Citizen of the Year Award: Andrea Solomon, a former Middlebury resident, community volunteer, and college employee, and David Clark, director of the Ilsley Public Library. The Community Achievement Award was given to the Middlebury Volunteer Ambulance Association (MVAA). Donna Donahue, past president of Better Middlebury Partnership, received a Chairman’s Award from outgoing chair Jeff Costello. Directors newly elected to the board are Geoff Conrad of the Middlebury Inn, Larry Goetschius of Addison County Home Health & Hospice, Sal Morana of Porter Medical Center, and Shawn Oxford of Bristol Financial Services. Tim Buskey of Vergennes Residential Care Home is incoming chair. Present were Bill Edson and Kevin Parizo, MVAA; Solomon; Donahue; Becky Dayton, The Vermont Book Shop; and Clark.


Gregory Sanford, the recently retired state archivist, received the Vermont Historical Society’s President’s Award in recognition of “three decades of service preserving Vermont’s history.” Charles Haynes, a retired businessman, was elected to the society’s board of trustees. Neil Kvasnak was elected to his first term on the society’s board, having previously been appointed to fill an unexpired term.

The Vermont Health Care Association honored two employees of Woodbridge Rehabilitation and Nursing: Lucie Gilbert, activity assistant, and Bill Thayer, food service manager. Gilbert was named Activity Assistant of the Year, and Thayer was named Food Service Manager of the Year.

The Vermont Community Foundation announced the election of three new members to its board of directors: Dave Finney of Champlain College; Michael Metz of Michael Metz & Associates Inc.; and Meg Seely, consultant and community leader.

The state of Vermont is fifth for energy efficiency according to the 2012 Energy Efficiency Scorecard, and eighth in the list of states with the most aggressive energy-savings targets. The scorecard is published by the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy.


Jacqueline Gregory Langley, videography instructor for the communications and community media major at Johnson State College, won the 2012 Communicator Awards Silver Award of Distinction for her video Hartbeet Lifesharing Community, produced by Langley’s video company, Backroads and Blacktops. The video won in the Online Video Marketing category. Gina Mireault, a behavioral sciences professor at Johnson, and her students were featured on the PBS science series NOVA as part of the acclaimed series “What Makes Us Human?” Their study explores how infants develop a sense of humor. Union Bankshares was ranked in the top 25 by Sandler O’Neill + Partners LP, an investment banking firm, which awarded Union the Sm-All Star Award for 2012. The award recognizes the top performing small-cap banks and thrifts in the country.

Light-Works was recognized by the Specialty Graphic Imaging Association’s Golden Image competition with Gold in the Fine Art Digital Entries category. The company’s entry was also named Best in Show.

Amber L. Barber, a matrimonial and family law attorney at Downs Rachlin Martin PLLC, was installed as president of the Vermont Bar Association. Barber has served in several VBA leadership positions.


David Provost, vice president of administration and finance at Champlain College, was elected chair of the Wake Robin board of directors. Wake Robin also announced the election of three directors to three-year terms: Kate Lampton, Catherine Frank, and Geoffrey Hesslink of Merchants Bank.

The Vermont Wood Manufacturers Association announced the winners of its annual design competition. The judges were Robert Fletcher of the Vermont Woodworking School; Dave Sellers, architect; and James Murray of Simon Pearce Glass. First-place prizes were awarded in each of five categories: production furniture, ClearLake Furniture of Ludlow; custom or studio furniture, David Hurwitz of David Hurwitz Originals, Randolph; custom woodenware, Janet A. Collins of Green Mountain Woodturning, Ryegate; production woodenware, Adam Rainville of Maple Landmark, Middlebury; and carvings and sculpture, Jason Ballard of My Minds Design, Grafton. Alicia Dietz took first in the 18+ student-apprentice category.