Honors & Awards

January 2013

White + Burke Real Estate Investment Advisors Inc. announced that Stephanie T. Hainley, a project manager, completed her master of business administration at Champlain College in July. She joined the company in 2006.

Four members of the Vermont Symphony Orchestra governing board of directors were honored for their service by the VSO Association: Sylvia Robison, John Tampas, Edwin Colodny, and Gaetano Vicinelli. Katie Banks and Richard Nair received the VSO Volunteer of the Year Award. They co-chaired the 2011 and 2012 Waltz Night galas. Present were Alan Jordan, VSO executive director; Banks; and Nair. The VSO also honored AARP Vermont as a member of the Crescendo Society, by presenting to Greg Marchildon, AARP Vermont president, a custom-designed piece by Simon Pearce.

Vermont Business Magazine announced its 2012 group of 40 Rising Stars. The entire list can be found on the magazine’s website, www.vermontbiz.com/news/october.

Carol Hodges, clinical associate professor with the nursing program at Vermont Technical College, was named president of the Vermont State Nurses’ Association.

The Vermont Affordable Housing Coalition announced the addition of three members to its steering committee: John Broderick, executive director of the Regional Affordable Housing Corp.; Sara Koblyenski, executive director of The Upper Valley Haven; and George Mathias, chief operating officer of Gilman Housing Trust.

Sandra Berbeco, a Shelburne artist, was elected to the Shelburne Museum’s board of trustees.

Carl H. Lisman, the senior member of Lisman Leckerling PC, was named Vermont’s 2013 real estate Lawyer of the Year by Best Lawyers for his work in the areas of real estate law and litigation.

Several Vermont philanthropists were honored by the Association of Fundraising Professionals of Northern New England. Jane and Bill Stetson were named Outstanding Individual Philanthropists; The Stiller Family Foundation, Outstanding Foundation; People’s United Bank, Outstanding Corporation; Leslie Halperin, Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser; and Lyssa Jackson, Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy.

Murdoch Hughes & Twarog Attorneys at Law PC received a Tier 1 ranking in the 2013 edition of U.S. News-Best Lawyers “Best Law Firms.” Attorneys Jim Murdoch and Frank Twarog were also named to New England Super Lawyers for 2012.

Joe Merone, a senior producer at Vermont Public Television, was inducted into the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Boston/New England chapter’s 2012 Silver Circle. The Gold and Silver Circles honor television professionals who have performed “distinguished service within the industry for more than 25 years.” Jerry Aldredge, artistic director of Catamount Arts, was elected to VPT’s community council, an advisory group.

Kinney Pike Insurance Inc. has qualified as a Best Practices Agency as a participant in the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America Best Practices Study Group, the only Vermont agency with this status. The agency has earned this status each year since 1995.

The Lamoille Economic Development Corp. elected officers for 2012. James Black of Johnson State College is president; David Silverman, president and CEO of Union Bank, is vice president; and John Kingston, COO and CFO of Butternut Mountain Farm, is treasurer.

Trumbull-Nelson Construction of Hanover, N.H., and Montpelier received four awards in the NH/VT Chapter of Associated Builders and Contractors Excellence in Construction ceremony for its work on the Lebanon (N.H.) Middle School.

Robert B. Luce of Down Rachlin Martin PLLC was recognized by Best Lawyers and Super Lawyers as one of the top attorneys in Vermont representing plaintiffs in personal injury cases.

The Visiting Nurse Association of Chittenden and Grand Isle Counties announced the appointment of three members to its board of directors: Tania Bertsch, M.D., of South Hero; Frank Harris of Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Inc.; and Sen. Dick Mazza of Colchester, the owner of Dick Mazza’s General Store. Primmer Piper Eggleston & Cramer PC announced that several attorneys were chosen for inclusion in the 2012 edition of Super Lawyers in one or more areas of law: Leo Bisson, Gary Burt, Gregory Clayton, Anne Cramer, Jon Eggleston, Gary Franklin, Thomas Pappas, L. Jonathan Ross, and Douglas Wolinsky. Listed as New England Rising Stars are Jennifer Turco Beaudet, Elijah Emerson, and Joslyn Wilschek.

The Vermont Economic Development Authority announced its newly elected officers: Leon C. Graves, Dairy Marketing Services, chair; Kenneth D. McEwan, UBS Financial Services Inc., vice chair; and Steven J. Bourgeois, Strategic Initiatives for Business LLC, treasurer.

PC Construction announced that Clarkson University’s student center project, on which PC Construction was the contractor, received LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Silver certification. Stantec was commissioning and energy consultant.

Vermont Businesses for Social Responsibility honored Rep. Bill Botzow (D-Pownal) and Sen. Anthony Pollina (P/D-Washington) with its Lawmaker of the Year awards for their work in the past legislative season. Chairing the House Commerce Committee, Botzow passed legislation in support of Vermont’s local food movement and updated the state’s Benefit Corporation law. Pollina was “an important VBSR ally on health care reform.”

John Stimets was named Associate of the Year for 2012 with Country Business Inc. Stimets has been the lead intermediary in the Burlington office since 1991.