Honors & Awards

July 2014

Diana Sheltra, the owner of Double Entry Bookkeeping, passed the Enrolled Agent exam given by the Internal Revenue Service. Enrolled Agents have unlimited practice rights as to which taxpayers they may represent, the types of tax matters they can handle, and the IRS offices where they can represent clients.

Mary Loney, RN, CHPN, a hospice nurse with the Visiting Nurse Association of Chittenden and Grand Isle Counties, received the award for Outstanding Home Health Nurse from the Vermont State Nurses’ Association. Patricia Donehower vice president of clinical services at the VNA of Chittenden and Grand Isle Counties, was named Outstanding Nurse Leader in a Community Setting.

At its annual Vermont international dinner, the Vermont Council on World Affairs honored Bill Stenger and the Jay Peak development team for their work in “Bringing the world to Vermont and Vermont to the world.” The council also announced the addition of David Clubb, assistant vice president for international education at Norwich University, to its board of directors.

PC Construction moved up six spots this year to 148th in the annual national ranking of Engineering New-Record magazine’s list of Top 400 Contractors. PC also ranked 91st in ENR’s list of Top 100 Contractors by New Contracts.

Greg Goyette, a transportation engineer and associate in the South Burlington office of Stantec, was named a Top Young Professional by the New England edition of Engineering News Record. The annual list recognizes professionals under the age of 40 who are up-and-coming leaders in the industry.

Jim Harrison, president of the newly merged Vermont Retail & Grocers Association, announced the election of its board of directors. Todd Keyworth of Harborside Harvest Market and Lake Champlain Clothing Co., is president; Marc Sherman of Stowe Mercantile, vice chair for public policy; Dwight LaFountain of Champlain Oil Co., vice chair for operation; Bob Diaco of Sign-A-Rama, vice chair for membership; and Bonnie Hawley of Hawley’s Florist, past chair.

Carris Reels was named a 2014 Northeast Business Leader for Energy Efficiency by Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships, a regional nonprofit advocacy organization. The company was chosen for its “efficient approaches to lighting, industrial processes, and building tightness.” Notable was the reduction of $50,000 a year in compressed air costs.

The 2014 edition of Chambers USA directory of American lawyers and firms recognized 11 attorneys at Dinse, Knapp & McAndrew in their practice areas. The new guide also recognizes the firm as among Vermont’s best in every category of practice. Attorneys named are Afi Ahmadi, Ritchie Berger, David Gurtman (Up and Coming), Austin Hart, Molly Langan, Karen McAndrew, Amy M. McLaughlin, Jeffrey J. McMahan (two categories), Brian R. Murphy, Jeffrey J. Nolan, and Sophie Zdatny (Associate to Watch),

Eight secondary and post-secondary Vermont teachers, from Burlington High School, Canaan Memorial High School, Lamoille North Supervisory Union in Hyde Park, St. Johnsbury Academy, U32 High School in Montpelier, Vermont Woodworking School in Fairfax, and Yestermorrow Design/Build School in Waitsfield, have earned certification to award industry-recognized credentials to their students in woodworking and building trade programs. The Northern Forest Center partnered with the Woodwork Career Alliance of North America, which developed the standards. The Vermont Wood Manufacturers Association collaborated to deliver the program in Vermont. Pictured: Greg Heuer of WCA (left) explains an evaluation procedure to instructors (from left) Eugene Reid of Canaan Memorial, Matthew Stark of St. Johnsbury Academy, and Kim Sweatt of Canaan Memorial.

Jim Condos, Vermont secretary of state, announced that the corporations division of the Secretary of State’s Office won the 2014 International Merit Award from the Association of Commercial Administrators Merit Award. The award was for “outstanding achievement in registry innovation for its efforts in going paperless.

Engineering Ventures announced that Bill Nourse, P.E., earned his license as Professional Engineer from the State of Vermont. Nourse has eight years of experience in structural engineering.

Ellen Mercer Fallon, a partner at the law firm Langrock Sperry & Wool LLP, was reappointed to the Vermont state advisory committee of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Fallon has been with Langrock since 1977.

Allegiant was named the Top-Performing Airline in North America by Aviation Week for the third consecutive year, out-performing all other U.S. carriers. The company ranks second overall worldwide, 0.3 points behind the top spot, and is top performer worldwide in the Small Carrier category for the second consecutive year.

The Vermont Association of Broadcasters announced its annual Commercial of the Year awards. “Digital Marketing,” created by advertising agency Urban Rhino for Community College of Vermont, won Best in Show in the television category. Urban Rhino also won the Best Public Service Announcement award for “Drive Hammered, Get Nailed.” In the radio category, a spot called “Ticks” for L R Pest Elimination Services took Best in Show for WOKO-FM. WOKO also won the Most Creative Radio Commercial award for a spot for Brickliners titled “Santa Pants.” Other award winners include Shadow Productions, WCAX-TV, WPTZ-TV/WNNE-TV, WFFF-TV/WVNY-TV, Mt. Mansfield Media, WNCS-FM, and WXZO-FM. Pictured are Kacie Loeffler and Bill Sargent of WOKO.

United Way of Chittenden County named Robert DiPalma of Paul Frank + Collins PC, chair of its 2014 community campaign. The 2014 community campaign board members are Nicole Bourassa, Cope & Associates Inc.; Laura Bowe, WCAX-TV; Jennifer Cortez, Green Mountain Power; Scott Fewell, Dinse, Knapp & McAndrew; Sean McMannon, Winooski School District; Larry Michaels, O’Brien Brothers Agency Inc.; and Andrew Savage, AllEarth Renewables Inc. Joseph Gaida was elected treasurer of the United Way Board of directors. Board members elected for their first term are James Cohen, New York Life Insurance Co.; Claude Deschamps, M.D., UVM Medical Group/Fletcher Allen Health Care; Brooke Gilman, eSecLending LLC; Roger Hess, Fox 44-WFFF; Savage; and Rebecca Towne, Green Mountain Power Corp.

Davis & Hodgdon Associates CPAs announced that Alyssa McBride, accountant and Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisor, was awarded the professional license of Certified Public Accountant.

Merchants Bank was listed in the Top 200 in American Banker magazine’s annual list of best performers for the third year in a row. Merchants’ performance put it in the top 4 percent among a peer group of 851 community banks across the country with less than $2 billion in assets.

Christopher J. Loso, vice president of Loso’s Professional Janitorial Services Inc., joined the board of the Vermont Associates for Training and Development Inc.

The Vermont Agency announced that Jan Knutsen earned the 2014 NAIFA-VT (National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisers) New Advisor of the Year award. Jo Ann Thibault, FSS, CDFA, was elected the 2014-15 president of NAIFA. Kami Cunningham was elected NAIFA’s 2014-15 secretary/treasurer.

The Small Business Administration’s Vermont district office announced the annual Small Business Awards for 2014. Gov. Peter Shumlin presented the Vermont Small Business Person of the Year award to Bill Cherry and Jeff Neiblum, owners of Switchback Brewing Co. Other awardees recognized were Sidehill Farm, Family-Owned Business of the Year; The Bee’s Knees, Woman-Owned Business of the Year; Vermont Bean Crafters, Young Entrepreneur of the Year; Grow Compost of Vermont, Microenterprise of the Year; and Super Thin Saws, Exporter of the Year. SCORE (the Service Corps of Retired Executives) was recognized for celebrating its 50th anniversary.